How to Change Windows 7 User Account Control Setting

How to Change Windows 7 User Account Control Setting- User Account Control (UAC) is an arrangement in Windows 7 notifies you before changes are made to your computer that require administrator-level permission. The default UAC setting notifies you when programs try to make changes to your computer, but you can change how often UAC notifies you. To Open User Account Control Settings click Start button>then clicking Control Panel. In the search box, type uac, and then click Change User Account Control settings, you will be prompted to enter the Administrator’s password. The following table provides a description of the UAC settings and the potential impact of each setting on the security of your computer. Any change in these settings requires special care as these will effect the entire settings of your computer-

Read more on windows user accounts- Windows User Accounts, Types and how to manage

S.N.

Setting

Description     

 

Security impact

1

Always notify

1.            You'll be notified before programs make changes to your computer or to Windows settings that require administrator permissions

2.            When you're notified, your desktop will be dimmed, and you must either approve or deny the request in the UAC dialog box before you can do anything else on your computer. The dimming of your desktop is referred to as the secure desktop because other programs can't run while it's dimmed.

1.            This is the most secure setting.

2.            When you're notified, you should carefully read the contents of each dialog box before allowing changes to be made to your computer

2

Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer

1.            You'll be notified before programs make changes to your computer that require administrator permissions.

2.            You won't be notified if you try to make changes to Windows settings that require administrator permissions.

3.            You'll be notified if a program outside of Windows tries to make changes to a Windows setting.

1.            It's usually safe to allow changes to be made to Windows settings without you being notified. However, certain programs that come with Windows can have commands or data passed to them, and malicious software can take advantage of this by using these programs to install files or change settings on your computer. You should always be careful about which programs you allow to run on your computer.

3

Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer (do not dim my desktop)

1.            You'll be notified before programs make changes to your computer that require administrator permissions.

 

2.            You won't be notified if you try to make changes to Windows settings that require administrator permissions.

 

3.            You'll be notified if a program outside of Windows tries to make changes to a Windows setting.

1.            This setting is the same as "Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer," but you're not notified on the secure desktop.

 

2.            Because the UAC dialog box isn't on the secure desktop with this setting, other programs might be able to interfere with the visual appearance of the dialog box. This is a small security risk if you already have a malicious program running on

4

Never Notify

1.            You won't be notified before any changes are made to your computer. If you're logged on as an administrator, programs can make changes to your computer without you knowing about it.

 

2.            If you're logged on as a standard user, any changes that require the permissions of an administrator will automatically be denied.

 

3.            If you select this setting, you'll need to restart the computer to complete the process of turning off UAC. Once UAC is off, people that log on as administrator will always have the permissions of an administrator.

1.            This is the least secure setting. When you set UAC to never notify, you open up your computer to potential security risks.

2.            If you set UAC to never notify, you should be careful about which programs you run, because they'll have the same access to the computer as you do. This includes reading and making changes to protected system areas, your personal data, saved files, and anything else stored on the computer. Programs will also be able to communicate and transfer information to and from anything your computer connects with, including the Internet.



Reactions:

2 comments:

  1. Bajrang Lal Choudhary14 August 2014 at 01:13

    This system the User Account Control (UAC) arrangement in Windows 7 is very important from security aspect too becaus it notifies you before any unknown person wants to make changes are made to your computer that require administrator-level permission otherwise he will not be able to make changes

    ReplyDelete
  2. Very good Information on the very important topic Windows 7 User Account Control (UAC). Thanks to the narrator.

    ReplyDelete